Night Walk

moon

The fog had muted the moonshine, the air was neither warm nor cold, and I confidently strode down the drive in my winter boots. My flannel shirt was slung over my shoulder and my skin felt invigorated by the night air. I was a tad annoyed when the yard light kicked on, the electric light was too bright. It canceled out the pearly fog surrounding me. Eventually, it winked out. I was completely alone on the gravel road surrounded by the woods. I raised my arm to the hidden goddess above and smiled. This is where I belonged. It was wonderful to enjoy the freedom found in the shrouded night. My flashlight illuminated glistening diamonds strung on spider threads and scattered on branches. Quiet drops fell from trees, the only sound I could hear besides the gentle crunching of my steps. There was a crisp scent in the air, not unpleasant, yet chill and wet. The dryad in me thrilled to the world I was wandering in.

However, I probably should have not strayed off into the yard. I’m pretty sure dryads don’t get their legs snagged by wild rose bush thorns. They don’t slip on wet leaves as they saunter down hills. Nor have I read of dryads being scratched by the trees they embrace and getting bark dust on their skin. The woodland creatures also don’t appear to ail from sore muscles. The worst part, however, was not finding a single randy faun to cavort with. Reality is so unfair when you drop into a fantasy!

10 thoughts on “Night Walk

  1. Dryads
    Nymphs of the forest.

    Naiads
    Nymphs of fresh water.

    Nereids
    Nymphs of the ocean.

    Oreads
    Nymphs of the mountains, valleys and ravines.

    Reminded me of our high school. Our houses were named after nymphs.

    Liked by 1 person

      • The students are allocated to houses for co-curricular activities. Each house has two captains who are elected towards the end of the previous year. There are also two Middle School house representatives in each house.

        Throughout the year, friendly competition exists between the students in their houses as they battle for the House Sporting Shield and House Aggregate Shield awards, which recognises student participation and achievement within the house system. The house activities program embraces a diverse range of activities. Pre-eminent among these are the House Chorals, House Drama, Lipsynching, Swimming and Athletic Carnivals.

        A lunchtime program consisting of a variety of co-curricular activies are conducted throughout the year. Although many of these activities are competitive, they are designed to foster a spirit of enjoyment and participation and all students who participate benefit in numerous ways.

        Like

  2. Gambling through the night time forest, with all the creatures of the woodlands. I wondered what you would do to keep sane, once you put the kayak away. Just watch out for them 30 point bucks. I hear they can be vicious. Not to mention all the drunken hunters out looking for them.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Not even reindeer? I guess Santa Lee;s them under wraps for safety. Actually, i was drawing on my knowledge of northern Michigan, and that hunting season opens soon. Moose make sense. The legendary 30 point buck is a reference to a song by, Da Yoopers. But maybe few outside the state of Michigan know that. The night sky is amazing, no matter where you are, or in any season. .

        Like

Leave a comment