Stuff for September!

IMG_0478 - Copy

I’ve always been partial to September. It is often a golden sort of month. On the Oregon coast it is truly lovely. In EO, there is a rush by nature to fill the last moments of summer before the descent into a vibrant fall. The Kenai Peninsula is often wet and chilly. The sunny days are cool and full of tiny golden birch leaves which have dripped off the trees onto a colorful earth.

Oddly, I had forgotten September is also set aside as a month to get a library card. I was reminded of this by a good friend after I had received my newest one. Is it a time machine, a passport, a key to knowledge, or a way to tie people together? For me, it is all of those. I walked into the local library, card in hand, and found so many stories which had helped craft me into the person I am today. Gems like this:

You grow up close with nature an’ she give you strength.” Or this one: “Sometimes things settle themselves if you just wait.” Both of those are by M. E. Bell.

Those are gems from a time machine going backwards. Other words are waiting for me to find them in the books I’ve not read yet, phrases to take me to other lands and worlds. I have a book on reserve from a different library, a book with an odd take on philosophies and ideas. All of these are books to tie me to others as I find stories friends have suggested to me. Everything from a library card!

Oh-the-places-youll-go-oh-the-places-you-clipart

Then, I go back to the things that settle if I wait. Because I did something stupid and embarrassed myself totally just this very evening. I hope I will be less uncomfortable soon, but am pretty sure it will take more than just a short while for my idiocy to ease! Wisdom from the past to help me in a future I’d never imagined when I read that sentence decades ago.  Maybe it will take this time around…….

(Seuss image from wikiclipart)

2 thoughts on “Stuff for September!

Leave a comment