Words

EmirFillpovle It is probably not a surprise to my readers to learn I love words. I like  how syllables roll on the tongue, how a sentence makes me feel, how an author can convey thoughts to a reader in a short paragraph, and how letters become an escape. I often would make my FB posts quotes. Not because I couldn’t think of anything interesting to say, but because I love sharing ideas others crafted. There is a flavor in phrasing better than cinnamon or chocolate…I’ll get back to you on that! :o)

It is fun to see sentences pop into stories or scenes almost out of the blue. I like to  find ideas hidden inside a  page. It is like a treasure hunt where you will always find gold! Seeing  philosophy inside a song is fairly normal, but it is much more fun to tear apart the obscure ideas in Don McLean’s ‘American Pie’ and communicate with others. This is not a new idea.  One of my blogging friends shared this and I had to veer off into a thread of my own!

One of the authors I read used this phrase in a story, ‘Misty moisty morning.’ I know lots of people cannot stand the word moist, but when I read those words, I could see and FEEL that summer morning. Jean Webster spun these words and convulsed me into giggles. “The stage scenery was set for romance, but from the moment the curtain rose the play had persisted in being farce.” The reader can not only see the predicament the characters were in, but I could relate. (granted, the story was much more amusing than anything I’d experienced!) This author, E. Woodham, plopped this into erotica I was reading. Completely out of place, but so alliterative. ‘I cannot tame my mind; it hops and skips, and jumps like a rabbit in a nursery rhyme.’

In the world I’ve lived in, words are important to me. They have helped me to escape, they help me grow, they help me think, and they are fun to play with. Subtle hues in words which might mean one thing and really are completely different fascinate and titillate me. This quote is a person I’d like to see myself as, “She was a curious girl who loved the smell of old books, chasing butterflies, and touching herself under the covers.”  M. Faudet.  Yup, I do adore words!

7 thoughts on “Words

  1. Great post! I love words too; cooked, fried, roasted, baked, or sauteed, it doesn’t matter. Each word has its own flavor and spices up the recipe for every book on the burner. hey let me taste, touch, smell, hear and see the world around me and that, my dear, is a beautiful thing 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Why some music lyrics sound odd | Thoughts and Appreciations

Leave a Reply

